FLORENCE, S.C. – Florence-Darlington Technical College’s governing body elected three new officers at its last meeting of the fiscal year.

Dr. Leroy Robinson of Hartsville will be the new chairman of the Florence-Darlington County Commission for Technical Education. Former S.C. Gov. Nikki Haley appointed Robinson to the commission in the spring of 2016 to represent Darlington County. Robinson is board certified in obstetrics and gynecology and practices at Women’s Care of Hartsville.

Dr. Joe Griffin, a Florence dentist, was elected as the commission’s vice chairman in the same meeting. He was appointed to the commission in the spring of 2014 and is the principal dentist of Advanced Dental Center. Griffin represents Florence County on the commission.

Ershela Sims was elected as the commission’s treasurer and was appointed to represent Darlington County last year. She’s a senior vice president at the South Carolina Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics, where she heads up the Accelerate Virtual Engineering Program in Hartsville.

All three commissioners will serve one-year terms as officers, but they have the option to succeed themselves for one additional consecutive term.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.