Cortney Harless.JPG

Cortney Harless, a kindergarten teacher at Southside Early Childhood Center, was named the 2019-20 Darlington County School District Teacher of the Year on Tuesday, Aug. 13. Pictured are (from left) Dr. Tim Newman, DCSD Superintendent, and Harless.

HARTSVILLE, S.C. – Southside Early Childhood Center’s Cortney Harless will represent Darlington County School District as District Teacher of the Year for 2019-20.

The announcement came during Tuesday the district’s Back-to-School Convocation in Hartsville High School’s arena.

Harless is a 5K teacher at Southside Early Childhood Center. She earned the selection after an intensive judging period that included an application process and a face-to-face panel interview.

Superintendent Dr. Tim Newman made the announcement in front of all the district’s educators and employees.

“Ms. Harless represents exactly the sort of nurturing and compassionate educator we want in the Darlington County School District,” Newman said. “She recognizes the importance of ‘meeting our students where they are.’ On behalf of the district, I congratulate her on this prestigious honor, and I look forward to working with her as we continue to move our district forward.”

Harless holds a Master of Education in Instructional Accommodations from Francis Marion University. She also holds a Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood Education from Youngstown State University. She began teaching in Darlington County in 2017, and she has 11 years of early childhood teaching experience.

2019 DCSD Convocation.JPG

All employees in the Darlington County School District attended a Back-to-School Convocation on Tuesday, Aug. 13, during which the 2019-2020 District Teacher of the Year was announced. Cortney Harless, a kindergarten teacher from Southside Early Childhood Center, will represent the district and its educators over the next year.

“In many cases, my classroom is one of the first classroom my students will ever step foot into, not to mention the first classroom their parents well ever leave their ‘babies’ for the day,” she wrote. “Therefore, I feel it is extremely important to develop a mutually respectful and honest relationship with my students and their families. …A classroom is like an extended family, and once this foundation is established, I have the ability to accomplish several major goals,” she said in her application for the position.

Judges, which included former teachers, district administrators and community leaders, selected Harless from five finalists. The four remaining finalists will serve as the district’s 2019-20 Honor Roll Teachers of the Year. They are:

  • Kinsey Johnson, Brunson-Dargan Elementary School
  • Danielle Watkins, Mayo High School for Math, Science & Technology
  • Carmen Blakney, Pate Elementary School
  • Monique Brown, St. John’s Elementary School

Judges selected the five finalists from the pool of 2019-20 School Teachers of the Year. These peer-selected teachers will serve on the district’s Teacher Forum and Leadership Council, acting as teacher leaders and advisers for the district.

All 23 School Teachers of the Year are:

  • Casey Sanders, Brockington Elementary Magnet School
  • Kinsey Johnson, Brunson-Dargan Elementary School
  • Lauren Prosser, Cain Elementary School
  • Melesa Creamer, Carolina Elementary School
  • Bert Beasley, Darlington County Institute of Technology
  • Anitra Caldwell, Darlington County Intervention School
  • Kristen Johnson, Darlington High School
  • Nena McConnell, Darlington Middle School
  • Cameron Watkins, Hartsville High School
  • Marlin Ketter, Hartsville Middle School
  • Tara Amerson, Lamar Elementary School
  • Toni Anderson, Lamar High School
  • Danielle Watkins, Mayo High School for Math, Science & Technology
  • Bethany Perry, North Hartsville Elementary School
  • Carmen Blakney, Pate Elementary School
  • Karen James Wilson, Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School
  • Cortney Harless, Southside Early Childhood Center
  • Phoebie Heustess, Spaulding Elementary School
  • Shawntell Bull, Spaulding Middle School
  • Monique Brown, St. John’s Elementary School
  • Patricia McKinley, Thornwell School for the Arts
  • Jessica Lyerly, Washington Street Elementary School
  • Jazziman Parker, West Hartsville Elementary School

Subscribe to Breaking News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.